Ontario Government | Ministry of Labour | Site Map | Accessibility| text resize: A A A<

Home | About Us | OWT Library | Forms | Practice Directions | Decision Search | Contact Us | Fran├žais

Questions | Decisions | Appeal Process | For Representatives | Finding a Representative
Documents & Publications | Legal/Medical Resources | Popular Topics | Links to Other Agencies

Current Announcements

Announcements Archive

Receive WSIAT News Using RSS RSS

David J. Mullan - SOAR Medal Winner

The Society of Ontario Adjudicators and Regulators (SOAR) has awarded the SOAR Medal to one of our current Vice-Chair's, David Mullan, and to Deena Baltman, a former Vice-Chair at the Appeals Tribunal and now a Superior Court Judge. The SOAR Medal is awarded to those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the Administrative Justice community.

David Mullan's contributions to the Canadian administrative justice system and the Ontario agency sector in particular, are well known to everyone in the Administrative Law system. He is one of Canada's foremost authorities on administrative law. His many writings have been often cited by the courts, including the Supreme Court of Canada. Mr. Mullan has regularly written on the links between labour law and administrative law.

A professor of law at Queen's University, Faculty of Law for 27 years, where he held the Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt Professorship in Constitutional and Administrative Law before his retirement, Mr. Mullan has recently been named a professor emeritus. He has won a number of prestigious awards for his dynamic and comprehensive teaching style. In 2002, the Law Society of Upper Canada awarded him a honourary LLD.

In 2004, Mr. Mullan was appointed as the Integrity Commissioner of the City of Toronto. He is also a member of NAFTA Chapter 19 Canadian Panel and a panel member of the Human Rights Tribunal of Ontario.

[Back to top]