Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 3806 17
18/11/2020
E. Kosmidis
  • Earnings basis (apprentice)
  • Earnings basis (nominal remuneration)
  • Pensions (arrears)
  • Supplements, transitional provisions (permanent) (wage loss)
  • Temporary disability (beyond pension level)

The worker suffered a right knee injury in March 1981. He continued working for the accident employer as a glass cutter and then as a glass mechanic. He was laid off by the accident employer and, after working for several other employers as a glazier, started his own glass installation business around 1989. The worker permanently closed the business around the time of his first knee surgery in 2011. The worker appealed decisions of the Appeals Resolution Officer on a number of issues.

The Board granted the worker a 5% pension for right knee impairment retroactive to 1981, with an increase to 12% in 2012 and to 14% in 2014. The Vice-Chair confirmed the quantum of the pension as determined by the Board but adjusted the arrears date for the increase to 12% from 2012 to 2007.
The worker was not entitled to supplementary benefits under s. 147(4) of the pre-1997 Act from 1992 to 2011, as he did not suffer a wage loss. However, he was entitled to the supplement from 2011, as he was no longer able to carry on his business.
The worker was also entitled to temporary total disability benefits from 2011 to 2014, which represents the period of time for which the worker was below his pension.
At the time of the accident in 1981, the worker was an apprentice engaged in a training program learning a trade and working towards obtaining his licence as a glazier, which he obtained in 1984. Section 45(7) of the pre-1985 Act applied to apprentices and workers learning a trade if their remuneration was of a nominal nature. In determining the worker's entitlement, it was necessary to consider whether the worker met the threshold test of his remuneration being of a nominal nature. Referring to Decisions No. 198/95 and 3223/00, the Vice-Chair noted that an apprentice's remuneration can be nominal, not just if it is insignificant or a pittance but, also, if the apprentice's career development is such that the apprentice wages do not adequately reflect training, experience and skills. The Vice-Chair considered whether, in the context of the case, the difference from the worker's actual wages as an apprentice and the fully qualified wage was nominal.
In this case, the worker was earning $16,800 at the time of his injury. When he received his licence, he received a raise to $29,900, which represents a 44% increase in earnings. The Vice-Chair concluded that the worker's earnings at the time of the accident were of a nominal nature and that the worker was entitled to an earnings basis calculation based on the average earnings of a fully qualified person engaged in the same trade as the worker at the time of the compensable accident.
The appeal was allowed in part.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 3806 17
2020-11-18
E. Kosmidis
  • Base salariale (apprenti)
  • Base salariale (rémunération nominale)
  • Pensions (arriérés)
  • Suppléments, dispositions transitoires (permanent) (perte de salaire)
  • Invalidité temporaire (excédant le taux de pension)

Le travailleur s’était blessé au genou droit en mars 1981. Il avait continué à travailler pour l’employeur au moment de l’accident comme coupeur de verre, puis comme mécanicien-vitrier. L’employeur l’avait mis à pied et, après avoir travaillé comme vitrier pour plusieurs autres employeurs, il avait lancé sa propre entreprise de pose de verre aux environs de 1989. Il avait fermé son entreprise définitivement aux alentours de sa première opération au genou en 2011. Le travailleur a interjeté appel au sujet de plusieurs questions réglées dans des décisions de commissaire aux appels.

Le travailleur avait obtenu une pension de 5% rétroactive à 1981 pour une déficience liée à des troubles au genou, et cette pension avait été portée à 12% en 2012, puis à 14% en 2014. La vice-présidente a confirmé le taux de pension déterminé par la Commission, mais elle a ajusté de 2012 à 2007 la date des arriérés de pension découlant de l'augmentation à 12%.
Le travailleur n’avait pas droit à un supplément aux termes du paragraphe 147(4) de la Loi d’avant 1997 pour la période de 1992 à 2011 puisqu’il n’avait pas eu de perte de salaire. Il avait toutefois droit à un supplément à partir de 2011 puisqu’il avait été incapable de maintenir son entreprise.
Le travailleur avait aussi droit à des prestations d’invalidité totale temporaire pour la période de 2011 à 2014, car son degré de déficience excédait le taux de sa pension.
Au moment de l’accident de 1981, le travailleur participait à un programme d’apprentissage en vue d’une licence de vitrier, qu’il a obtenue en 1984. Le paragraphe 45(7) de la Loi d’avant 1985 s’appliquait aux apprentis et aux travailleurs en apprentissage dont la rémunération était nominale. Pour déterminer le droit à indemnisation du travailleur, il fallait donc examiner si sa situation remplissait le critère préliminaire de la rémunération nominale. La vice-présidente s’est référée aux décisions nos 198/95 et 3223/00, et elle a noté que la rémunération d’un apprenti peut-être qualifiée de nominale, non seulement si elle est insignifiante ou dérisoire, mais aussi si le cheminement de carrière de l’apprenti est tel que son salaire ne reflète pas adéquatement sa formation, son expérience et ses compétences. La vice-présidente a examiné s’il y avait une différence nominale entre le salaire réel d’apprenti du travailleur et le salaire d’un professionnel dûment qualifié.
Le travailleur en l’espèce gagnait 16 800$ au moment de la lésion, et son salaire était passé à 29 900$ après l’obtention de sa licence, ce qui représentait une augmentation de salaire de 44%. La vice-présidente a conclu que les gains du travailleur étaient nominaux au moment de l’accident et qu’il convenait de calculer sa base salariale en fonction des gains moyens d’un travailleur dûment qualifié dans la profession qu’il exerçait au moment de l’accident indemnisable.
L’appel a été accueilli en partie.