Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1072 19
19/10/2020
R. Nairn - C. Sacco - S. Roth
  • In the course of employment (contemporaneity)
  • Right to sue (workers of both employers)
  • Schedule 1 employer (application industries)
  • Schedule 2 employer

The plaintiff in a civil case brought an action against a municipality regarding injuries suffered in May 2014, when his vehicle struck a catch basin depression on the side of the road. The defendant applied to determine whether the plaintiff's right of action was taken away.

The plaintiff was a worker in the course of employment at the time of the accident. The defendant was a Schedule 1 employer but had been a Schedule 2 employer prior to 2010. The essence of the plaintiff's position was that some of the alleged negligent acts of defendant's employees occurred when the defendant was registered in Schedule 2, that the employees were Schedule 2 workers, and s. 28(1) of the WSIA did not grant the Tribunal jurisdiction to find that a Schedule 1 worker has no right of action against a Schedule 2 employer.
The Panel accepted that it would not have the jurisdiction to remove the right of a Schedule 1 worker to commence an action against a Schedule 2 employer or workers of that Schedule 2 employer. The Panel also accepted that the negligence of the workers of a Schedule 1 employer giving rise to an injury to another worker of a Schedule 1 employer need not be contemporaneous with the injury to fall within the scope of s. 28(3). However, that did not assist the plaintiff in this case.
The critical date for making determinations about the status of the various parties and their rights is not the date of any alleged negligence but, rather, the date of accident. The entire WSIA scheme is set into motion once a worker sustains a personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of employment. The ability to make a s. 31 application is tied to the accident date, since there is no right to commence an action earlier. It is the date of accident which is the triggering or crystallizing event on which the status of the various parties is to be determined.
Once the Board agrees to transfer an employer from Schedule 2 to Schedule 1, that employer enjoys the same protections as all other Schedule 1 employers. In this case, when the defendant was transferred to Schedule 1 in 2010, its only liability with respect to matters that occurred prior to that date was with respect to costs associated with work-related claims that occurred prior to that. From 2010 forward, the defendant, as a Schedule 1 employer, enjoyed the protection of actions brought against it by other Schedule 1 workers and employers.
The Panel concluded that the plaintiff's right of action was taken away.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1072 19
2020-10-19
R. Nairn - C. Sacco - S. Roth
  • Au cours de l'emploi (contemporanéité)
  • Droit d'intenter une action (travailleurs des deux employeurs)
  • Employeur de l'annexe 1 (industries à protection facultative)
  • Employeur de l'annexe 2

Le demandeur dans une action civile avait intenté une action contre une municipalité pour des lésions subies en mai 2014 quand son véhicule avait roulé dans une bouche d’égout enfoncée au bord de la route. Le défendeur demandait au Tribunal de déterminer si la Loi supprimait le droit d’action du demandeur.

Le demandeur était un travailleur en cours d’emploi au moment de l’accident. Le défendeur était un employeur de l’annexe 1, mais il appartenait à l’annexe 2 avant 2010. Le demandeur soutenait essentiellement que certains des actes négligents reprochés aux employés du défendeur étaient survenus pendant que celui-ci appartenait à l’annexe 2, que les employés étaient des travailleurs de l’annexe 2 et que le Tribunal n’avait pas compétence aux termes du paragraphe 28(1) pour déclarer que la Loi supprimait le droit d’action d’un travailleur de l’annexe 1 contre un employeur de l’annexe 2.
Le comité a accepté qu’il n’a pas compétence pour déclarer qu’il y a suppression du droit d’action d’un travailleur de l’annexe 1 contre un employeur ou un travailleur de l’annexe 2. Il a aussi accepté que la négligence de travailleurs d’un employeur de l’annexe 1 occasionnant une lésion à un autre travailleur d’un employeur de l’annexe 1 ne doit pas nécessairement être contemporaine à la lésion pour relever du paragraphe 28(3). Cependant, ces constatations n’aidaient pas le travailleur en l’espèce.
La date déterminante pour établir la situation et les droits des différentes parties est la date de l’accident, et non la date de la prétendue négligence. Les dispositions prévues dans la Loi de 1997 se mettent en branle une fois qu’un travailleur subit une lésion corporelle accidentelle du fait et au cours de son emploi. L’aptitude à présenter une requête aux termes de l’article 31 dépend de la date de l’accident puisqu’il n’y a aucun droit d’action avant cette date. L'accident est l’événement déclencheur ou cristallisant à partir duquel la situation des différentes parties doit être déterminée.
Une fois que la Commission accepte de transférer un employeur de l’annexe 2 à l’annexe 1, cet employeur jouit de la même protection que tout autre employeur de l’annexe 1. À partir du moment du transfert à l’annexe 1 en 2010, la seule responsabilité de l’employeur à l’égard d’événements survenus avant cette date était la responsabilité financière pour les demandes d’indemnisation antérieures. À partir de 2010, le défendeur était un employeur de l’annexe 1 protégé contre les actions intentées par d’autres employeurs et travailleurs de l’annexe 1.
Le comité a conclu que la Loi supprimait le droit d’action du demandeur.