Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1721 14
22/09/2014
S. Martel
  • Board Directives and Guidelines (health care) (out of province)
  • Out of province (health care)

The worker suffered a low back injury in 1996, for which he was granted a 19% NEL award in 2009, increased to 24% in 2013. The worker underwent back surgery in the United States in 2010. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying reimbursement for the cost of the surgery.

The worker did not obtain approval from the Board prior to undergoing the surgery. Tribunal decisions have found that workers are not entitled to reimbursement in the case of failure to obtain prior approval for elective surgery.
The worker suggested that Ontario doctors were reluctant to perform the surgery due to the worker's age (about 68 at the time of the surgery). However, there was no support for that suggestion from the medical reports.
In addition to the requirement in Board policy of prior approval for elective surgery outside Ontario, the policy also requires that the health care not be available or offered in Ontario or that the out-of-province treatment is required because of risks associated with delay in waiting a longer period of time for treatment in Ontario. That was not the situation in this case.
The worker did not meet the requirements of Board policy for elective surgery outside Ontario. The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1721 14
2014-09-22
S. Martel
  • Directives et lignes directrices de la Commission (soins médicaux) (hors de la province)
  • Hors de la province (soins médicaux)

Le travailleur avait subi une lésion à la région lombaire en 1996. Il avait obtenu une indemnité pour perte non financière de 19 % en 2009, et celle-ci avait été portée à 24 % en 2013. Il s’était fait opérer aux États-Unis en 2010. Le travailleur a interjeté appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de refuser de lui reconnaître le droit au remboursement des frais engagés pour la chirurgie.

Le travailleur n’avait pas obtenu l’approbation de la Commission avant de se faire opérer. La jurisprudence du Tribunal indique que les travailleurs n’ont pas droit à un remboursement s’ils négligent d’obtenir l’approbation préalable de la Commission avant une chirurgie non urgente.
Le travailleur a laissé entendre que les médecins ontariens étaient réticents à l’opérer en raison de son âge (environ 68 ans au moment de la chirurgie). Il n’y avait toutefois rien dans les documents médicaux corroborant une telle réticence.
En plus d’exiger l’approbation préalable de la Commission, la politique exige que les soins médicaux ne soient pas disponibles ou offerts en Ontario ou que le traitement hors de la province soit nécessaire en raison des risques associés à une attente plus longue pour obtenir un traitement en Ontario. Ce n’était pas le cas en l’espèce.
Le travailleur ne remplissait pas les critères de la politique de la Commission pour une chirurgie non urgente hors de l’Ontario. L’appel a été rejeté.