Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1770 14
15/10/2014
G. Dee
  • Out of province (accident in Ontario) (worker not resident of Ontario)
  • Out of province (substantial connection)
  • Right to sue

The plaintiff in a civil action was injured in a motor vehicle accident. The defendants applied to determine whether the plaintiff's right of action was taken away. The issue was whether the plaintiff was a worker of a Schedule 1 employer.

The plaintiff was an employee of an American automobile manufacturer. She lived and worked full-time in Michigan, had workers' compensation coverage in Michigan and was a member of an American union. She was sent to a plant in Ontario to watch the production process in order to try to identify a problem in which gas caps were coming loose somewhere between leaving the Michigan plant and installation in vehicles at the Ontario plant. The plaintiff had been in Ontario for about 24 hours at the time of the accident. She was scheduled to be in Ontario for not more than three days.
The Vice-Chair concluded that there was a lack of substantial connection with Ontario. The plaintiff's presence in Ontario was simply incidental to her employment relationship with her employer in Michigan. There was no contract of service in Ontario. The Vice-Chair also noted that Board policy, which is not actually binding on right to sue applications, indicates that a worker does not usually have a substantial connection to Ontario if a worker works five or fewer days a year in Ontario. In this case, the worker had spent less than five days working in Ontario in her entire work life.
The plaintiff did not have a substantial connection to Ontario. Her right of action was not taken away.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1770 14
2014-10-15
G. Dee
  • Hors de la province (accident en Ontario) (travailleur non-résident en Ontario)
  • Hors de la province (lien important)
  • Droit d'intenter une action

La demanderesse dans une action civile avait été blessée dans un accident de véhicule automobile. Les défendeurs ont demandé au Tribunal de déterminer si la Loi supprimait le droit d'action de la demanderesse. Il fallait déterminer si la demanderesse était une travailleuse au service d’un employeur de l’annexe 1.

La demanderesse était une employée d’un fabricant d’automobiles américain. Elle vivait et travaillait à plein temps au Michigan, avait une assurance contre les accidents du travail au Michigan et était membre d’un syndicat américain. Elle avait été envoyée à une usine en Ontario pour observer le processus de production pour essayer de déterminer pourquoi des bouchons de réservoir se desserraient entre le moment de leur expédition de l’usine du Michigan et leur installation dans les véhicules à l’usine de l’Ontario. La demanderesse était en Ontario depuis environ 24 heures au moment de l’accident. Elle ne devait pas passer plus de trois jours en Ontario.
Le vice-président a conclu que la travailleuse n’avait pas un lien considérable avec l’Ontario. La présence de la demanderesse en Ontario était simplement accessoire à son emploi avec l’employeur au Michigan. Il n’y avait pas de contrat de service en Ontario. Le vice-président a aussi noté que, selon la politique de la Commission, laquelle n’avait pas force exécutoire dans les requêtes relatives au droit d’intenter une action, il n’y a habituellement pas de lien considérable avec l’Ontario quand le travailleur travaille moins de cinq jours par année en Ontario. En l’espèce, la travailleuse avait passé moins de cinq jours de toute sa vie professionnelle à travailler en Ontario.
Comme la demanderesse n’avait pas de lien considérable avec l’Ontario, la Loi ne supprimait pas son droit d’action.