Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1146 15
07/07/2015
S. Martel
  • Class of employer (scientific and technical services)
  • Class of employer (dual rates) (small employer)

The Board classified the employer in Rate Group 704 for testing, inspection and related services. The employer appealed, claiming that it should be classified in Rate Group 958-08 for offices of engineers. The Vice-Chair identified as an alternative Rate Group 958-09 for other scientific and technical services. The employer agreed with that alternative and submitted that it should be the appropriate rate group.

The employer conducted material testing. A part of the business activity included soil testing (known as geotechnical investigation) but the predominant activity involved concrete and asphalt testing. For the concrete and asphalt testing, the municipalities with which the employer contracted sent samples to the employer. The employer then tested those samples in its lab. For the geotechnical investigations, the employer subcontracted with a driller to obtain the soil samples.
The Board found that Rate Group 704 was appropriate because the employer's business activity involved on-site excavation and drilling as part of the contract, even though the drilling was subcontracted to third parties.
Board Operational Policy Manual, Document No. 14-01-04, on aggregated payroll, provides that, if an employer's operation involves more than one activity and the employer does not maintain segregated payroll, the Board classifies the employer in the rate group with the highest premium. However, the policy also states that a small employer is excepted from this rule and is instead classified in the rate group for the predominant business activity.
A small employer is defined as one with annual insurable earnings that are less than five times the maximum insurable earnings ceilings for the premium year in question. The authority for this policy derives from O. Reg. 175/98, s. 9. The maximum annual insurable earnings for the year in question (2011) was $79,500, so that an employer would be a small employer if its annual payroll upon which premiums are payable is no more than $398,000.
The Vice-Chair noted that geotechnical investigation which includes drilling is excluded from the 958 rate groups. However, the employer, which had insurable earnings ranging from about $145,000 to $370,000, was a small employer. The employer's predominant business activity involved lab testing with no drilling, so that it was excepted from the classification with the highest premium rate.
The best fit for the employer was Rate Group 958-09. The appeal was allowed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1146 15
2015-07-07
S. Martel
  • Classification de l'employeur (services scientifiques et techniques
  • Classification de l'employeur (double taux) (petit employeur)

La Commission avait classifié l’employeur dans le groupe de taux 704 (vérification, inspection et services connexes). L’employeur a interjeté appel en soutenant qu’il appartenait au groupe de taux 958-08 (bureaux d’ingénieurs). La vice-présidente a identifié un groupe de taux de rechange : le groupe 958-09 (autres services scientifiques et techniques). L’employeur a été d’accord que ce groupe de taux pouvait être le groupe approprié.

L’employeur faisait des essais de matériaux. Une part de ses activités incluait l’analyse des sols (aussi appelée étude géotechnique), mais il faisait surtout des essais sur du béton et du bitume. Pour les essais sur le béton et le bitume, les municipalités lui fournissaient les échantillons nécessaires. Pour les études géotechniques, l’employeur utilisait les échantillons de sol obtenus d’une entreprise de forage sous-traitante.
La Commission avait choisi le groupe de taux 704 parce que les contrats conclus par l’employeur comportaient de l’excavation et du forage, même si ces activités étaient sous-traitées à un tiers.
Selon le document no 14-01-04 du Manuel des politiques opérationnelles, lequel concerne la masse salariale globale, si un employeur exerce plus d’une activité commerciale et ne maintient pas des masses salariales distinctes, la Commission le classifie dans le groupe de taux ayant le taux de prime le plus élevé. Ce document prévoit toutefois aussi qu’un petit employeur est exempt de l’application de cette règle et est classifié dans le groupe de taux de l’activité commerciale prédominante.
« Petit employeur » s’entend d’un employeur dont les gains assurables annuels sont inférieurs à cinq fois le plafond des gains assurables pour l’année de prime en question. Cette politique est autorisée aux termes de l’art. 9 du Règl. de l'Ont. 175/98. Le montant maximal des gains assurables pour l’année en question (2011) était 79 500 $, de sorte qu’un employeur était réputé comme étant un petit employeur si la masse salariale annuelle sur laquelle il devait payer des primes était en deçà de 398 000 $.
La vice-présidente a noté que les études géotechniques, lesquelles incluent du forage, étaient exclues des groupes de taux 958. Elle a toutefois estimé que l’employeur, dont les gains assurables allaient de 145 000 $ à 370 000 $ environ, était un petit employeur. L’activité commerciale prédominante étant les essais en laboratoire, sans forage, l’employeur n’avait pas à être classifié dans le groupe de taux ayant le taux de prime le plus élevé.
C’était le groupe de taux 958-09 qui était le plus approprié pour l’employeur. L'appel a été accueilli.