Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1059 16
05/05/2016
G. Dee
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Medical opinion (fibromyalgia)

The worker suffered a low back injury in 2008. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying entitlement for fibromyalgia.

The Vice-Chair referred to the Tribunal medical discussion paper on Fibromyalgia, and noted that the causes of fibromyalgia are not generally known or agreed upon, and that the nature of the connection between trauma, disability and fibromyalgia is uncertain. None the less, Board policy allows entitlement for fibromyalgia under its chronic pain disability policy.
The opinion of the worker's treating rheumatologist supported a causal relationship between the worker's accident and the onset of her fibromyalgia. That opinion appeared to be based largely on the close temporal relationship between the accident and the diagnosis. However, the Vice-Chair stated that a close temporal relationship is not, on its own, sufficient to establish causation. Contrary to the opinion of the rheumatologist, the opinion of another doctor viewed the close temporal relationship as an indication that the accident did not cause the fibromyalgia.
The close temporal relationship can be seen as an indication that the process leading to the development of the fibromyalgia was already underway at the time of the accident. The worker had numerous physical difficulties prior to the accident. She also had a history of non-organic symptoms, such as headaches, dizziness, depression, fatigue, sleep difficulty and spousal abuse, that have all been correlated to the occurrence of fibromyalgia.
The Vice-Chair concluded that a relationship between the accident and the worker's fibromyalgia had not been demonstrated. The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1059 16
2016-05-05
G. Dee
  • Fibromyalgie
  • Opinion médicale (fibromyalgie)

La travailleuse s’était blessée au bas du dos en 2008. Elle a interjeté appel de la décision par laquelle la commissaire aux appels a refusé de lui reconnaître le droit à une indemnité pour fibromyalgie.

Après avoir consulté le document de travail du Tribunal sur la fibromyalgie, le vice-président a noté que les causes de cette affection ne sont pas connues et ne font pas consensus en général. Il a aussi noté que la nature du lien entre les traumatismes, l’invalidité et la fibromyalgie est incertaine. La Commission prévoit néanmoins le droit à une indemnité pour fibromyalgie dans le cadre de sa politique sur la douleur chronique.
Le rhumatologue traitant de la travailleuse appuyait la prétention d’un lien de causalité entre l’accident et le début de la fibromyalgie. Cette opinion semblait surtout fondée sur le lien temporel étroit entre l’accident et le diagnostic. Le vice-président a toutefois déclaré qu’un tel lien est insuffisant en soi pour établir l’existence d’un lien de causalité. Contrairement au rhumatologue, un autre médecin considérait le lien temporel étroit comme une indication que l’accident n’avait pas causé la fibromyalgie.
Ce lien temporel étroit pouvait aussi signifier que le processus menant à l’apparition de la fibromyalgie était déjà en cours au moment de l’accident. La travailleuse avait eu de nombreux problèmes physiques avant l’accident. Elle avait aussi des antécédents de symptômes non organiques, tels que maux de tête, étourdissements, dépression, fatigue, problèmes de sommeil ainsi que des problèmes de violence conjugale qui avaient tous été corrélés à l’apparition de la fibromyalgie.
Le vice-président a conclu que le lien entre l’accident et la fibromyalgie n’avait pas été établi. L’appel a été rejeté.