Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1638 16
07/07/2016
S. Martel
  • Re-employment (obligation to re-employ) (unable to work)
  • Re-employment (termination)
  • Board Directives and Guidelines (re-employment) (unable to work)

A truck driver experienced left shoulder pain in May 1999. He did not lose time from work and continued performing his regular duties. His employment was terminated in June 1999. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer finding that the employer did not breach its re-employment obligations.

The re-employment obligation in s. 41 of the WSIA only applies when a worker has been unable to work as a result of an injury. According to Board policy, a worker is unable to work if unable to perform the essential duties of the pre-injury job or if the worker requires workplace modifications or assistive devices to perform the essential duties of the pre-injury job.
In this case, the worker continued with his pre-injury job duties without accommodation or the need for accommodation. There was no evidence of lost time and no evidence that the worker was unable to perform the essential duties of his pre-injury job. The worker did not meet the threshold for application of s. 41. The worker's employment was terminated due to a comment he made to a customer prompting a customer complaint.
The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1638 16
2016-07-07
S. Martel
  • Rengagement (obligation de rengager) (inapte au travail)
  • Rengagement (cessation d'emploi)
  • Directives et lignes directrices de la Commission (rengagement) (inapte au travail)

Le camionneur en l’espèce avait eu mal à l’épaule gauche en mai 1999. Il n’avait pas eu d’interruption de travail et avait continué à accomplir ses tâches habituelles. Son emploi avait cessé en juin 1999. Le travailleur a interjeté appel de la décision dans laquelle le commissaire aux appels a conclu que l’employeur n’avait pas enfreint ses obligations de rengagement.

Les obligations de rengagement prévues à l’article 41 de la Loi de 1997 s’appliquent seulement quand un travailleur est devenu inapte au travail par suite d’une lésion. Aux termes de la politique de la Commission, un travailleur est inapte au travail s’il est incapable d’accomplir les tâches essentielles de son emploi d’avant la lésion ou s’il faut modifier les lieux du travail ou lui fournir des dispositifs d’assistance pour les accomplir.
Le travailleur en l’espèce avait continué à accomplir ses tâches d’avant la lésion sans adaptation et sans avoir besoin d’adaptation. Rien n’indiquait qu’il avait eu des interruptions de travail ni qu’il avait été inapte à effectuer les tâches essentielles d’avant la lésion. Le cas ne remplissait pas les critères nécessaires pour appliquer l’article 41. L’employeur avait mis fin à l’emploi du travailleur par suite d’une plainte au sujet d’un commentaire qu’il avait fait à un client.
L’appel a été rejeté.