Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 167 18
18/05/2018
A. Patterson
  • Supplements, transitional provisions (benefit from rehabilitation) (cooperation)
  • Supplements, transitional provisions (benefit from rehabilitation) (earning capacity)
  • Supplements, transitional provisions (permanent)

The worker suffered neck, back and shoulder injuries in November 1989. The Board granted the worker a 15% pension for chronic pain disability. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying supplementary benefits under s. 147(4) of the pre-1997 Act, from October 1991.

The worker considered himself unemployable and did not co-operate with VR activity. If the worker had participated in the job search that the Board was recommending in October 1991, he likely would have found full-time work at minimum wage. His combined earning capacity (pension and minimum wage earnings) would have been about $310 per week, significantly below his pre-accident earnings of $400 per week.
The Vice-Chair agreed with Decision No. 85/97, that non-co-operation will only disqualify a worker from s. 147(4) supplementary benefits if it is likely that the worker's earning capacity would have increased to the extent contemplated by s. 147(2), had he co-operated. Under s. 147(2), the determination is whether a worker's earning capacity after VR would have approximated pre-accident earnings.
In this case, the worker's earning capacity after participating in VR would not have approximated his pre-accident earnings. Accordingly, the worker was entitled to s. 147(4) supplementary benefits. The appeal was allowed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 167 18
2018-05-18
A. Patterson
  • Suppléments, dispositions transitoires (profiter de la réadaptation) (coopération)
  • Suppléments, dispositions transitoires (profiter de la réadaptation) (capacité de gain)
  • Suppléments, dispositions transitoires (permanents)

Le travailleur avait subi des lésions au cou, au dos et aux épaules en novembre 1989. Il avait obtenu une pension de 15 % pour invalidité attribuable à la douleur chronique. Il interjetait appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de refuser de lui reconnaître le droit à un supplément aux termes du paragraphe 147 (4) de la Loi d’avant 1997 après octobre 1991.

Le travailleur se considérait comme inemployable et n’avait pas collaboré aux activités de réadaptation professionnelle (RP). S’il avait participé à la recherche d’emploi recommandée par la Commission en octobre 1991, il aurait probablement trouvé un emploi à plein temps au salaire minimum. Sa capacité de gain totale (pension plus gains au salaire minimum) aurait été d’environ 310 $ par semaine, soit considérablement moins que ses gains de 400 $ par semaine d’avant l’accident.
Le vice-président a été d’accord avec la décision no 85/97 que la non-collaboration supprime le droit à un supplément aux termes du paragraphe 147 (4) seulement quand il est vraisemblable que la collaboration aurait permis d’accroître la capacité de gain dans la mesure prévue au paragraphe 147 (2). Aux termes du paragraphe 147 (2), le critère est de savoir si la RP aurait pu aider le travailleur à accroître sa capacité de gain de manière à ce qu’elle corresponde approximativement à celle d’avant l’accident.
En l’espèce, la capacité de gain du travailleur après la RP n’aurait pas correspondu à celle d’avant l’accident. Le travailleur avait donc droit à un supplément aux termes du paragraphe 147 (4). L’appel a été accueilli.