Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 178 18
06/04/2018
E. Smith
  • Loss of earnings {LOE} (lay-off)
  • Loss of earnings {LOE} (termination of employment)

The worker suffered a knee injury in July 2014. He was laid off by the employer in September 2014. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying full LOE benefits after September 2014.

The worker was hired by the employer for two consecutive summers. He worked for about six weeks in the summer of 2013. In 2014, he was hired in June. After the accident in July, the employer provided modified work until he was laid off at the end of the season in September 2014.
The ARO applied Board Operational Policy Manual, Document No. 15-06-02, on entitlement following temporary work disruptions. However, the Vice-Chair found that this policy was not applicable to the case. The worker was not laid off in a temporary work disruption. The work was seasonal from the employer's point of view. However, the Vice-Chair noted that there was no continuing employment relationship with the worker from one season to the next. The worker's employment was terminated by the employer at the end of each summer. The worker could re-apply the next summer, but there was a bidding process each summer to determine who would be hired. There was no collective agreement and no right of recall.
The Vice-Chair concluded that, when the worker was laid off in September 2014, his employment was terminated. The applicable policy was Document No. 15-06-03, on permanent work disruptions. Applying this policy, and considering the worker's ongoing knee problems, the Vice-Chair concluded that the worker was entitled to ongoing full LOE benefits.
The appeal was allowed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 178 18
2018-04-06
E. Smith
  • Perte de gains [PG] (mise à pied)
  • Perte de gains [PG] (cessation d’emploi)

Le travailleur avait subi une lésion à un genou en juillet 2014. L’employeur l’avait mis à pied en septembre 2014. Le travailleur interjetait appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de ne pas lui reconnaître le droit à des prestations pour perte de gains (PG) totale après septembre 2014.

Le travailleur avait été embauché deux étés de suite par l’employeur. Il avait travaillé environ six semaines pendant l’été 2013 et avait été réembauché en juin 2014. Après l’accident de juillet, l’employeur lui avait fourni du travail modifié jusqu’à la mise pied de fin de saison en septembre 2014.
Le commissaire aux appels avait appliqué le document no 15-06-02, lequel concerne le droit à une indemnité à la suite de perturbations de travail temporaires. La vice-présidente a conclu que cette politique ne s’appliquait pas en l’espèce. Le travailleur n’avait pas été mis à pied à la suite d’une perturbation temporaire. Il occupait un emploi saisonnier du point de vue de l’employeur ; cependant, la vice-présidente a noté qu’il n’avait pas une relation d’emploi continue d’une saison à la suivante. L’employeur mettait fin à la relation d’emploi à la fin de chaque été. Le travailleur pouvait poser sa candidature de nouveau l’été suivant, mais il y avait un processus de sélection pour déterminer qui serait embauché. Il n’y avait ni convention collective ni droit de rappel.
La vice-présidente a conclu que l’emploi du travailleur avait pris fin au moment de sa mise à pied en septembre 2014. La politique applicable était celle énoncée dans le document no 15-06-03, lequel porte sur le droit à une indemnité à la suite de perturbations de travail permanentes. À l’application de cette politique, et compte tenu des troubles de genou persistants du travailleur, la vice-présidente a conclu que celui-ci avait droit à des prestations continues pour PG totale.
L’appel a été accueilli.