Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1315 18
13/09/2018
A. Patterson
  • Continuing entitlement
  • Evidence (surveillance)

The worker was not entitled to ongoing LOE benefits.

The Vice-Chair found surveillance evidence of the worker to be highly probative with respect to whether the worker's reporting and presentation of her functional abilities was consistent with her demonstrated functional abilities when she was unaware of being observed. The surveillance was conducted over eight days, which is a relatively lengthy period of surveillance and constitutes more than just a snapshot of the worker's condition.
Further, the surveillance was conducted during a period which was contemporaneous with the employer's ongoing offer of modified work, and which was proximate to the medical reports to which it is compared.
The employer's representative put the surveillance evidence to the worker showing her performing activities incompatible with her stated restrictions, but the responses of the worker did not adequately explain the inconsistencies put to her between her reported functional abilities and her abilities as shown on the surveillance evidence.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1315 18
2018-09-13
A. Patterson
  • Droit continu à une indemnité
  • Preuve (surveillance)

La travailleuse n’avait plus droit à des prestations pour PG.

Le vice-président a conclu que la preuve de surveillance avait une grande valeur probante pour déterminer si les plaintes de la travailleuse et la façon dont elle décrivait ses capacités fonctionnelles correspondaient aux capacités fonctionnelles qu’elle démontrait quand elle était observée à son insu. D’une durée de huit jours, la surveillance avait été relativement longue et fournissait plus qu’un simple aperçu de l’état de la travailleuse.
De plus, la surveillance datait d’une période qui était contemporaine à l’offre de travail modifié continu de l’employeur et qui était proche dans le temps aux rapports médicaux auxquels elle était comparée.
Le représentant de l’employeur a interrogé la travailleuse au sujet de la preuve de surveillance la montrant pendant qu’elle s’adonnait à des activités incompatibles avec les restrictions dont elle se disait atteinte, et ses réponses n’ont pas expliqué adéquatement les incohérences entre ses prétendues capacités fonctionnelles et les capacités démontrées pendant la surveillance.