Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 2809 18
02/10/2018
S. Peckover
  • White finger disease
  • Second Injury and Enhancement Fund {SIEF} (preexisting condition)
  • Vibrations (tools)
  • Board Directives and Guidelines (SIEF) (preexisting condition) (vibratory tools)

The Board granted the worker entitlement for hand-arm vibration syndrome on a disablement basis as a result of use of vibratory tools. The Board granted the employer 63% SIEF relief. The employer appealed denial of an increase in the SIEF relief.

Board Operational Policy Manual, Document No. 14-05-03, on Second Injury and Enhancement Fund, has a specific provision regarding vibration-induced white finger disease. It provides that, industries involving vibratory hazards, the employer is charged based on the ratio between the history of prior employment exposure and the years of continuous employment exposure, with the balance being charged to the SIEF on the premise that prior exposure to high frequency, rapid acceleration or vibratory tools contributes to the development of the disease.
The worker had a 16-year history of exposure to vibratory tools. Of those 16 years, the last six years were with the accident employer. The ratio attributable to the accident employer was correctly set at 37%, and the employer was correctly granted 63% SIEF relief.
The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 2809 18
2018-10-02
S. Peckover
  • Maladie des vibrations
  • Fonds de garantie pour travailleurs réintégrés {FGTR} (état pathologique préexistant)
  • Vibrations (outils)
  • Directives et lignes directrices de la Commission (FGTR) (état pathologique préexistant) (outils vibrants)

La Commission avait reconnu le droit à une indemnité pour incapacité liée à une maladie des vibrations résultant de l’utilisation d’outils vibrants, et elle avait accordé à l’employeur une exonération de 63% du Fond de garantie pour travailleurs réintégrés (FGTR). L’employeur a interjeté appel de la décision de commissaire aux appels de refuser d’augmenter son exonération du FGTR.

Le document no 14-05-03, sur le FGTR, du Manuel des politiques opérationnelles de la Commission comporte une disposition particulière au sujet de la maladie des vibrations découlant de l’utilisation d’outils vibrants. Aux termes de cette disposition, dans les industries comportant des risques reliés aux vibrations, les coûts imputés à l’employeur sont établis en fonction du ratio entre les années antérieures d’exposition professionnelle et les années d’exposition professionnelle continue, et le reste est imputé au FGTR en supposant que l’exposition antérieure à des outils vibrants d’accélération rapide et de haute fréquence contribue à l’apparition de cette maladie.
Le travailleur avait 16 ans d’exposition à des outils vibrants. De ces 16 ans, il en avait passé les six dernières chez l’employeur au moment de l’accident. Le ratio attribuable à l’employeur au moment de l’accident avait correctement été établi à 37%, et l’exonération du FGTR de 63% était correcte.
L’appel a été rejeté.