Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 401 20
06/05/2020
K. Jepson
  • Hearing loss
  • Medical opinion (hearing loss) (testing procedures)
  • Medical report (Tribunal medical discussion paper)

The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying entitlement for noise-induced hearing loss in 2015.

There were audiograms from 2015 and 2016. The difference in the overall hearing loss measured in the 2015 audiogram and 2016 audiograms was very significant. The Vice-Chair found that the 2016 test was a much more reliable test result than the 2015 audiogram. With the 2015 test, there were no summary comments or other indicators that the reliability of the results were specifically considered and assessed. This was particularly significant given that there were aspects of the test results which suggested possible reliability issues. With the 2016 test, there was an indication that the audiologist specifically assessed reliability measures and found good reliability.
One key respect in which the 2016 audiological testing differs from the 2015 testing is that the 2016 testing included evoked potential (EP) testing. The Tribunal's medical discussion paper on hearing loss discusses some of the audiometric testing procedures, including threshold evoked potential testing. Evoked potential testing directly measures cortical response to sound stimuli. Because it does not depend on any voluntary response by the patient, EP testing can help establish with greater reliability the portion of any hearing loss that is purely sensorineural.
The discussion paper also explains that comparing speech recognition threshold (SRT) values averaged at 500, 1000, and 2000 Hz with the pure tone values averaged across those three frequencies should yield roughly equal results. If there is a significant discrepancy, this could imply an exaggerated hearing loss as well. In the 2015 audiogram the SRT values and pure tone values averaged at the stated frequencies did not yield roughly equal results.
The 2016 test included both air conduction and bone conduction values. The air conduction values met the Board policy threshold for entitlement but the bone conduction values did not meet the threshold. Further, EP values showed even less hearing loss. Since the worker does not meet the threshold on either EP or bone conduction values, it was unnecessary in this case to determine how the EP values would be factored into the calculation.
The Board has a practice of using bone conduction values to make the determination of the degree of loss, but that practice has never been incorporated into its formal published NIHL policy.
The Vice-Chair referred to and followed his reasoning in Decision No. 1052/17. Since NIHL is a sensorineural loss and bone conduction isolates the component of the loss that is purely sensorineural, bone conduction testing provides a better measure of NIHL. Air conduction values measure the overall hearing loss which includes both a conductive and a sensorineural hearing loss. As a conductive hearing loss would not be due to NIHL, bone conduction values are a better measure of pure sensorineural hearing loss such as NIHL.
The Vice-Chair was of the view that decisions using air conduction values have been relying on one particular sentence in the discussion paper that is somewhat unfortunately worded and that does not reflect the totality of the information in the discussion paper.
The Vice-Chair noted that none of the decisions allowing entitlement based on air conduction values released since the release of Decision No. 1052/17 has addressed the analysis in that decision.
Using the bone conduction values in the 2016 audiogram, the Vice-Chair concluded that the worker did not have entitlement for noise-induced hearing loss. The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 401 20
2020-05-06
K. Jepson
  • Déficience auditive
  • Opinion médicale (déficience auditive) (épreuves d'évaluation)
  • Rapport médical (document de travail médical du Tribunal)

Le travailleur a interjeté appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de refuser de lui reconnaître le droit à une indemnité pour perte auditive due au bruit (PADB) en 2015.

Le dossier contenait des audiogrammes datant de 2015 et de 2016. La différence entre la perte auditive globale mesurée en 2015 et celle mesurée en 2016 était très importante. Le vice-président a estimé que l’audiogramme de 2016 était beaucoup plus fiable que celui de 2015. Le rapport de l’audiogramme de 2015 ne comportait ni commentaire sommaire ni indication établissant que les résultats avaient été évalués pour en déterminer la fiabilité, fait particulièrement important puisque certains aspects des résultats semblaient indiquer la possibilité de problèmes de fiabilité. Le rapport de l’audiogramme de 2016 semblait par contre indiquer que l’audiologiste avait évalué les résultats et les avait trouvés fiables.
Le rapport de l’audiogramme de 2016 se distinguait de celui de 2015 surtout parce qu’il comportait des résultats d’examen de potentiels évoqués (EPÉ). Le document de travail médical du Tribunal sur la perte auditive traite de certains examens audiométriques, y compris de l’EPÉ. Cet examen mesure directement la réponse corticale aux stimulus sonores. Comme il ne dépend pas d’une réponse volontaire du patient, l’EPÉ peut aider à établir de façon plus fiable la portion purement neurosensorielle de la perte auditive.
Selon le document de travail médical, les valeurs moyennes d’intelligibilité de la parole (VIP) aux fréquences 500, 1 000 et 2 000 Hz et les valeurs moyennes d’audibilité des sons purs à ces trois fréquences devraient être à peu près égales. Une différence importante pourrait indiquer une exagération de la perte auditive. Dans l’audiogramme de 2015, les VIP et les valeurs moyennes d’audibilité des sons purs aux fréquences indiquées n’étaient pas à peu près égales.
L’audiogramme de 2016 comportait des valeurs de conduction aérienne et de conduction osseuse. Les valeurs de conduction aérienne remplissaient le critère d’audibilité prévu dans la politique de la Commission, alors que les valeurs de conduction osseuse ne le remplissaient pas. Les valeurs obtenues à EPÉ indiquaient une perte auditive encore moins importante. Comme les valeurs obtenues à l’EPÉ et les valeurs de conduction osseuse ne remplissaient pas le critère voulu, il n’était pas nécessaire de déterminer comment inclure les valeurs obtenues à l’EPÉ dans le calcul.
La Commission a pour pratique d’utiliser les valeurs de conduction osseuse pour déterminer le degré de perte auditive, mais elle n’a jamais intégré cette pratique dans sa politique officielle concernant la perte auditive due au bruit (PADB).
Le vice-président a suivi le raisonnement qu’il avait adopté dans la décision no 1052/17. Étant donné que la PADB est une perte auditive de perception et que l’examen de conduction osseuse isole la composante purement neurosensorielle de la perte auditive, cet examen fournit une meilleure mesure de la PADB. Les valeurs de conduction aérienne reflètent la perte auditive globale, ce qui inclut la surdité de transmission et de perception. Comme la surdité de transmission ne peut être due au bruit, les valeurs de conduction osseuse constituent une meilleure mesure de la perte auditive de perception, telle que la PADB.
Le vice-président a estimé que les décisions usant des valeurs de conduction aérienne s’appuient sur une phrase plutôt malencontreuse du document de travail médical qui ne reflète pas l’ensemble de l’information qui est contenue.
Le vice-président a noté qu’aucune des décisions reconnaissant le droit à une indemnité en fonction des valeurs de conduction aérienne depuis la publication de la décision no 1052/17 n’avait traité de l’analyse figurant dans cette dernière décision.
Usant des valeurs de conduction osseuse de l’audiogramme de 2016, le vice-président a conclu que le travailleur n’avait pas droit à une indemnité pour PADB. L’appel a été rejeté.