Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 1011 16 R
15/12/2020
R. McCutcheon
  • Chronic obstructive lung disease
  • Legal precedent (consistency)
  • Smoking
  • Procedure (leading case strategy)
  • Reconsideration (change in law)
  • Reconsideration (conflicting decisions)
  • Reconsideration (new evidence)
  • Apportionment (non-economic loss) (co-existing conditions)

Decision No. 1011/16 upheld the Board's decision to apportion the worker's NEL award for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) due to the worker's smoking history. The worker applied for reconsideration of Decision No. 1011/16.

The original vice-chair considered two competing lines of Tribunal case law, which differed on the issue of whether COPD is a divisible injury. The original vice-chair preferred the approach adopted in Decision No. 484/06, which found that COPD was a divisible injury, so that apportionment was appropriate.
The worker submitted that there was significant new evidence, being Decisions No. 1884/07 and 1885/07, which are recognized as leading cases on the issue. The worker noted that those decisions were released approximately one week before Decision No. 1011/16.
The Tribunal Chair found that the threshold test for reconsideration was met. Decision No. 1884/07 considered the evidence presented by respirologist Dr. Hellyer and relied upon it in determining that it was not appropriate to reduce or apportion permanent impairment awards for COPD because COPD is not a divisible injury. The vast majority of Tribunal decisions subsequently followed the approach in Decision No. 1884/07.
Decision No. 1884/07 was a leading case that was scheduled in a co-ordinated manner with a similar case, and these two decisions were the result of an extensive adjudicative process by a three-member panel to address the rift that had developed in Tribunal case law.
Decision No. 1011/16 did not address the implications of Decision No. 1884/07, which pre-dated its release and which was directly relevant to questions that were of central importance to the conclusion it reached. If Decision No. 1884/07 had been brought to the attention of the vice-chair and the parties, they would have had the opportunity to review excerpts from Dr. Hellyer's reports, which were crucial to the issue of whether COPD is a divisible injury.
In reaching the conclusion that the threshold test for reconsideration was met, the Chair referred to Decision No. 534/90R, and found that Decision No. 1011/16 failed to deal with the implications of a leading Tribunal decision that pre-dated its release and which was obviously of significant relevance to questions of central importance to the conclusion that it reached.
The reconsideration process is intended for limited situations. A Tribunal decision will not be re-opened simply on the basis that a contrary line of decisions exists. In this case, however, there were exceptional circumstances that met the threshold test. This was a situation where there were two leading decisions (Decisions No. 1884/07 and 1885/07) that reconciled conflicting approaches, to ensure that the conflicting approaches did not occur over the long term. The leading decisions were released just a week prior to the release of this decision, and those cases were not drawn to the attention of the vice-chair and the parties. This was an exceptional circumstance that constituted an error of law that would likely have affected the outcome of the decision.
The application to reconsider was granted.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 1011 16 R
2020-12-15
R. McCutcheon
  • Maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique
  • Jurisprudence (cohérence)
  • Tabagisme
  • Procédure (stratégie fondée sur une décision de principe)
  • Réexamen (changement jurisprudentiel)
  • Réexamen (décisions contradictoires)
  • Réexamen (nouveaux éléments de preuve)
  • Répartition (perte non financière) (troubles concomitants)

Dans la décision no 1011/16, le Tribunal a confirmé la décision de la Commission de réduire l’indemnité pour perte non financière (PNF) pour maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) du travailleur en raison de ses antécédents de tabagisme. Le travailleur demandait un réexamen de la décision no 1011/16.

Le vice-président auteur de la décision initiale avait considéré deux courants jurisprudentiels contradictoires sur la question de savoir si la MPOC est une affection divisible. Il avait préféré le raisonnement de la décision no 484/06, selon laquelle la MPOC est une affection divisible, et il avait donc conclu qu’une réduction était appropriée.
Le travailleur disait avoir des éléments de preuve nouveaux et importants, soit des décisions reconnues comme décisions de principe sur le sujet (décisions nos 1884/07 et 1885/07) rendues environ une semaine avant la décision no 1011/16.
La présidente du Tribunal a conclu que la demande remplissait les critères préliminaires ouvrant droit à réexamen. Dans la décision no 1884/07, le Tribunal examine la preuve présentée par le Dr Hellyer, pneumologue, et, de là, il conclut qu’il n’est pas approprié de réduire les indemnités pour les déficiences permanentes liées aux MPOC ou d’en déduire un taux parce que cette affection n’est pas divisible. Le Tribunal a suivi le raisonnement de la décision no 1884/07 dans la vaste majorité de ses décisions subséquentes sur le sujet.
L’appel en question dans la décision no 1884/07 avait été inscrit au rôle et coordonné en tandem avec un cas similaire, et ces instances avaient donné lieu à un processus décisionnel d’envergure mené par un comité tripartite chargé de s’attaquer à la fracture jurisprudentielle qui s’était développée au Tribunal.
La décision no 1011/16 ne traitait pas des implications de la décision no 1884/07, même si celle-ci lui était antérieure et traitait directement de question d’importance cruciale aux conclusions qui y étaient tirées. Si la décision no 1884/07 avait été portée à leur attention, le vice-président et les parties auraient pu examiner les passages des rapports du Dr Hellyer qui présentaient une importance cruciale relativement à la question de savoir si la MPOC est une affection divisible.
Pour déterminer si les critères préliminaires étaient remplis, la présidente s’est reportée à la décision no 534/90R, et elle a conclu que, dans la décision no 1011/16, le Tribunal avait négligé de traiter des implications d’une de ses décisions de principe antérieures qui était manifestement pertinentes à des questions d’importance cruciale aux conclusions tirées.
Le processus de réexamen est réservé à des situations limitées. Le Tribunal ne considère pas la simple existence d’un courant jurisprudentiel contradictoire comme un motif de réexamen. En l’espèce, la demande remplissait les critères préliminaires en raison de circonstances exceptionnelles. Il y avait deux décisions de principe (décisions nos 1884/07 et 1885/07) conciliant des courants jurisprudentiels contradictoires pour prévenir leur perpétuation à long terme. Ces décisions de principe avaient été rendues une semaine avant la décision en l’espèce et n’avaient pas été portées à l’attention du vice-président et des parties. Ces circonstances exceptionnelles avaient donné lieu à une erreur de droit dont la rectification aurait probablement une incidence sur l’issue de l'appel.
La demande de réexamen a été accueillie.