Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 943 20
02/09/2020
R. McCutcheon
  • Hearing (alternative techniques)
  • Hearing (oral)
  • Loss of earnings {LOE} (cooperation)
  • Psychotraumatic disability

The worker suffered a low back injury in January 2011, for which the Board granted the worker a 14% NEL award. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying entitlement for psychotraumatic disability and LOE benefits from November 2011 to January 2014.

The Tribunal Chair reviewed the procedure for determining this appeal to be suitable for an in-person hearing at the Tribunal during COVID-19. Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, this appeal was originally scheduled to be heard in person in June 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, in-person hearings at the Tribunal were cancelled as of March 16, 2020. Effective May 13, 2020, the Tribunal communicated that in-person hearings would be converted to teleconference hearings.
In a letter dated May 19, 2020, the worker's representative submitted that the worker had limited ability to read, that the worker had psychiatric conditions and there was concern that the additional stressors of attempting to prepare for the hearing remotely may have a detrimental effect on his psychological conditions. The representative requested an in-person hearing so that he may guide the worker through the rigours of the hearing process.
In a letter dated May 25, 2020, the Tribunal's Manager, Scheduling Administration, denied the adjournment request. The worker's representative responded in a letter dated May 28, 2020, which attached additional medical information, including a note from a psychologist, dated May 28, 2020, stating that the worker had a learning disability, and gave the opinion that the worker required a face-to-face hearing, together with his legal representative. The worker's family physician also wrote a note recommending a face-to-face hearing, as the worker suffered from anxiety and would not present accurately in a teleconference.
The Tribunal's Manager, Scheduling Administration, considered this additional information, and determined that an in-person hearing was appropriate in the circumstances.
Before the hearing, the Tribunal provided the worker's representative with a copy of the WSIAT Guidelines for the Resumption of In-Person Hearings and provided the worker with the WSIAT In-Person Hearings Participant Information Sheet (Appendix C to the WSIAT Guidelines).
The WSIAT Guidelines for the Resumption of In-Person Hearings note that parties are asked not to bring observers or support persons to the hearing. The worker's representative requested approval for the worker's spouse to be allowed to attend the in-person hearing to provide emotional support to the worker. The representative submitted that the worker required this support due to his psychological condition and the associated stress and anxiety he will be experiencing while taking part in the hearing. The Chair, who had already been assigned the case, decided to grant the request for the worker's spouse to attend the hearing. The request was, essentially, a request for accommodation.
On the merits, the Chair found that the worker had entitlement for psychotraumatic disability. The Chair noted that there was a report indicating a diagnosis of chronic pain syndrome. The Vice-Chair carefully reviewed the Board's psychotraumatic disability policy and did not identify any provision precluding the diagnosis of chronic pain syndrome as a basis for entitlement. An injury is characterized as chronic pain disability if the nature of the disability is most closely associated with pain which cannot be attributed to organic causes. In this case, however, the worker has a clearly defined organic injury, namely, fractures at two levels of his spine. Entitlement for chronic pain disability requires evidence that a worker's pain is inconsistent with the organic injury. It was unlikely that the worker would meet that criterion in this case, given the nature of his injuries.
The Chair also found that the worker did not fail to co-operate. The worker was entitled to full LOE benefits during the period in question.
The appeal was allowed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 943 20
2020-09-02
R. McCutcheon
  • Audition (modes d'audition de rechnage)
  • Audition (orale)
  • Perte de gains [PG] (coopération)
  • Invalidité attribuable à un traumatisme psychique

Le travailleur avait subi une lésion au bas du dos en janvier 2011 et avait obtenu une indemnité pour perte non financière de 14 %. Il interjetait appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de ne pas lui reconnaître le droit à indemnisation pour invalidité attribuable à un traumatisme psychique (IATP) ainsi qu’à des prestations pour perte de gains (PG) pour la période de novembre 2011 à janvier 2014.

La présidente du Tribunal a examiné la procédure suivie pour déterminer que cet appel convenait à une audience en personne pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Cet appel était au rôle des audiences en personne de juin 2020. Le 16 mars 2020, le Tribunal avait annulé ses audiences en personne en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19 et, le 13 mai 2020, il avait annoncé qu’il les convertirait en audiences par téléconférence.
Dans une lettre datée du 19 mai 2020, le représentant du travailleur a signalé que son client avait une capacité de lecture limitée, qu’il souffrait de troubles psychiatriques et que le stress supplémentaire lié à la préparation à une audience par téléconférence pourrait avoir un effet néfaste sur son état psychique. Le représentant a demandé une audience en personne afin de pouvoir aider le travailleur à composer avec les contraintes du processus d’audition.
Dans une lettre datée du 25 mai 2020, la chef de l’administration du rôle a rejeté la demande d’ajournement. Le représentant du travailleur a répondu dans une lettre datée du 28 mai 2020 à laquelle il avait joint d’autres renseignements médicaux, notamment une note de psychologue indiquant que le travailleur avait un trouble de l’apprentissage et formulant l’opinion qu’il avait besoin d’une audience en personne, avec son représentant. Le médecin de famille du travailleur avait aussi rédigé une note recommandant une audience en personne parce que le travailleur souffrait d’anxiété, ce qui aurait un effet négatif sur sa présentation pendant une audioconférence.
Compte tenu de ces nouveaux renseignements, la chef de l’administration du rôle a déterminé qu’une audience en personne était appropriée.
Avant l’audience, le Tribunal a fourni au représentant du travailleur une copie des Directives du TASPAAT sur la reprise graduelle des audiences en personne, et il a fourni au travailleur la Fiche d’information pour les participants aux audiences en personne (annexe C des Directives).
Dans ces directives, le Tribunal demandait aux parties de ne pas se présenter à leur audience en compagnie d’observateurs ou de personnes de soutien. Le représentant a demandé d’autoriser la conjointe du travailleur à assister à l’audience à titre de soutien affectif. Le représentant soutenait que le travailleur avait besoin d’un tel soutien en raison du stress et de l’anxiété qu’il éprouverait pendant l’audience du fait de son état psychique. Déjà saisie de l’instance, la présidente a décidé d’accueillir cette demande et d’autoriser la conjointe à assister à l’audience. Il s’agissait essentiellement d’une mesure d’adaptation.
Sur le fond, la présidente a conclu que le travailleur avait droit à indemnisation pour IATP. Après avoir noté un rapport comportant un diagnostic de douleur chronique, la présidente a examiné attentivement la politique relative à l’IATP et n’y a trouvé aucune disposition interdisant de fonder le droit à indemnisation sur un diagnostic de douleur chronique. Un état est qualifié d’invalidité attribuable à la douleur chronique (IADC) si la nature de l’invalidité découle plus étroitement d’une douleur ne pouvant être attribuée à des causes organiques. Le travailleur présentait toutefois une lésion organique bien définie : des fractures à deux niveaux de la colonne. Pour avoir droit à indemnisation pour IADC, il faut que la douleur soit incompatible avec les constatations organiques. Il était peu probable que le travailleur remplisse ce critère, compte tenu de la nature de ses lésions.
La présidente a aussi constaté que le travailleur n’avait pas négligé de collaborer, et elle a conclu qu’il avait droit à des prestations pour PG totale pour la période en question.
L’appel a été accueilli.