Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 484 21
06/08/2021
E. Kosmidis
  • Board Directives and Guidelines (parking lots)
  • In the course of employment (parking lots)
  • Right to sue

The applicants were the defendants in civil actions brought by the respondent arising out of a motor vehicle accident between the respondent and one of the applicants in March 2012. The respondent and the applicant were employees of the same employer, and the accident occurred at 5:30 a.m. on the employer's parking lot as they arrived to start a 6:00 a.m. shift. The applicants applied for a determination that the respondent's right to sue was taken away by section 31 of the WSIA.

The application was granted.
The applicant and the respondent were in the course of their employment at the time of the accident. Under OPM Document No. 15-03-03, On/Off Employer's Premises, and OPM Document No. 15-03-04, Employers Premises, Parking Lots, Roads, Plazas, Malls, Boundaries, an employer controlled parking lot is considered the employer's premises and workers who enter the lot are considered to be in the course of their employment. Being in an employer's parking lot in order to start work is incidental to one's employment obligations. The parties arrived in the parking lot at a reasonable time before the start of their shift and there was no evidence that they were in the lot for any reason other than starting their work shift.
There is an exception in the policies that provides that workers are not in the course of their employment when using an instrument of added peril such as an automobile for personal reasons, unless the condition of the lot causes the accident. In order for this exception to apply, the use of the instrument of added peril must have been for personal reasons. In OPM Document 15-03-04, the "Guideline" for parking lots that the condition of the lot must cause the accident is qualified by the opening paragraphs of the policy requiring that the use of the automobile be for personal reasons. It is only when the worker's use of an instrument of peril such as an automobile is for personal reasons that the condition of the employer's parking lot becomes a relevant consideration.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 484 21
2021-08-06
E. Kosmidis
  • Directives et lignes directrices de la Commission (terrains de stationnement)
  • Au cours de l'emploi (terrains de stationnement)
  • Droit d'intenter une action

Les requérants étaient les défendeurs dans des actions civiles liées à un accident de véhicule survenu en mars 2012 impliquant l’intimé et un des requérants. L’intimé et le requérant étaient des employés du même employeur, et l’accident était survenu à leur arrivée sur le terrain de stationnement de l’employeur à 5 h 30, avant leur quart débutant à 6 h. Les requérants demandaient de déclarer que l’intimé n’avait pas le droit d’intenter une action aux termes de l’article 31 de la Loi de 1997.

La demande a été accueillie.
Le requérant et l’intimé étaient tous deux en cours d’emploi au moment de l’accident. Selon les documents nos 15-03-03, Sur les/Hors des lieux de travail de l’employeur, et 15-03-04, Lieux de travail de l’employeur, terrains de stationnement, routes, centres commerciaux, limite, un terrain de stationnement dont l’employeur est propriétaire ou locataire fait partie des lieux du travail et les travailleurs sont réputés en cours d’emploi dès qu’ils y accèdent. La présence sur le terrain de stationnement pour commencer à travailler est liée aux obligations d’emploi. Les parties étaient arrivées au terrain de stationnement à une heure raisonnable avant leur quart et rien n’indiquait qu’elles se trouvaient là pour des raisons autres que de débuter leur quart.
Les politiques prévoient une exception voulant que les travailleurs ne sont pas en cours d’emploi quand ils utilisent un appareil présentant un risque supplémentaire, tel qu’une automobile, pour des raisons personnelles, sauf si l’état du terrain cause l’accident. Toutefois, cette exception s’applique seulement si l’appareil est utilisé pour des raisons personnelles. Dans le document no 15-03-04, la condition selon laquelle l’accident doit avoir été causé par l’état du terrain est nuancée par les paragraphes d’introduction indiquant que l’automobile doit être utilisée pour des raisons personnelles. L’état du terrain de stationnement de l’employeur devient pertinent seulement quand le travailleur utilise un appareil présentant un risque supplémentaire pour des raisons personnelles.