Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 2382 12
13/09/2013
A. Baker - B. Davis - J. Crocker
  • Firefighter
  • Heart attack
  • Presumptions (entitlement)

A firefighter attended at a fire on July 15, 1973. He suffered a heart attack the next day, on July 16, 1973. The Board initially denied entitlement for the heart attack. As a result of legislative amendments in 2007, which allowed the worker's claim to be revisited, the Board granted the worker entitlement. The employer appealed.

Section 15.1(1) of the WSIA provides that, if a worker is prescribed under s. 15.1(8)(a) suffers an injury to the heart in circumstances prescribed under s. 15.1(8)(c), the injury is presumed to be a personal injury by accident arising out of and in the course of the worker's employment as a firefighter, unless the contrary is shown. Section 15.1(2) provides that subsection (1) applies to injuries sustained on or after January 1, 1960. Section 15.1(8) provides for the making of regulations. O. Reg. 253/07 was subsequently issues. Section 3 of the Regulation provides that the worker must have sustained the heart injury within 24 hours of attending the fire.
The worker was a firefighter who sustained a heart attack within 24 hours of attending a fire. The Panel rejected the employer's submission that it was an insignificant fire. There was evidence in the fire report of a large fire, with attendance for over three hours using 650 feet of hose. The worker had pre-existing heart problems. However, the evidence supported the worker's claim that he suffered the hearing attack on an aggravation basis. The attendance at the fire may not have been the only contributing factor to the heart attack but was a significant contributing factor.
The worker permanently aggravated his pre-existing condition as a result of the accident. He was not able to return to firefighting duties and continued to have limitation in his activities of daily living. Therefore, there was no basis to restrict benefits.
The rebuttable presumption shifted the onus to the employer to prove, on the balance of probabilities, that the firefighting on July 15 was not a significant contributing factor to the worker's heart attack the following day. The employer did not meet that onus. The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 2382 12
2013-09-13
A. Baker - B. Davis - J. Crocker
  • Pompier
  • Crise cardiaque
  • Présomptions (admissibilité)

Le paragraphe 15.1 (1) prévoit que si le travailleur est prescrit en application de l’alinéa (8) a) et qu’il subit une lésion cardiaque dans les circonstances prescrites en application de l’alinéa (8) c), celle-ci est présumée constituer une lésion corporelle survenant du fait et au cours de son emploi de pompier ou d’enquêteur sur les incendies, sauf si le contraire est démontré. Selon le paragraphe 15.1(2), la présomption énoncée au paragraphe (1) ne s’applique qu’aux lésions subies à compter du 1er janvier 1960. Le paragraphe 15.1(8) prévoit l'établissement de règlements. L’Assemblée législative a ensuite passé le Règlement de l’Ontario 253/07. L’article 3 du Règlement prévoit que le travailleur doit avoir fait sa crise cardiaque dans les 24 heures après avoir combattu un incendie.

Le travailleur était un pompier qui avait fait une crise cardiaque dans les 24 heures après avoir combattu un incendie. Le comité a rejeté la prétention de l'employeur selon laquelle l’incendie en question avait été insignifiant. Le rapport d'incendie faisait état d'un gros incendie qui avait nécessité la présence de pompiers pendant trois heures et l'utilisation d'un boyau de 650 pieds. Le travailleur avait des problèmes de cœur préexistants. La preuve corroborait la prétention du travailleur selon laquelle la crise de cardiaque avait été subie par suite d’une aggravation de l’état préexistant. L’intervention du travailleur à l’incendie n’avait peut-être pas été le seul facteur ayant contribué à la crise cardiaque, mais elle y avait contribué de façon importante.
L’accident avait aggravé le problème de cœur préexistant du travailleur de façon permanente. Il n’avait pas pu recommencer à travailler comme pompier et subissait les répercussions de cet accident dans ses activités quotidiennes. Rien ne permettait donc de réduire ses prestations.
En raison de la présomption irréfragable, c’était l’employeur qui devait prouver, selon la prépondérance des probabilités, que l'intervention lors de l'incendie du 15 juillet n'avait pas contribué de façon importante à la crise cardiaque survenue le lendemain. L’employeur ne s’est pas acquitté de ce fardeau de la preuve. L’appel a été rejeté.