Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 851 14
20/08/2014
S. Darvish - B. Davis - J. Crocker
  • Re-employment (non-compliance) (payments)
  • Re-employment (obligation to re-employ)

The worker suffered a neck and back injury in February 2009, for which he was granted a 38% NEL award. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer finding that the employer did not breach its re-employment obligations.

The worker was not able to perform the essential duties of his pre-injury employment. However, by mid-February 2010, he was medically able to perform suitable work. As such, under s. 41(5) of the WSIA, the employer was required to offer the worker the first opportunity to accept suitable employment that may become available. However, the employer failed to provide the worker suitable modified duties, without explanation and without evidence of undue hardship. The Panel concluded that the employer breached its re-employment obligations.
The worker was entitled to benefits for one year under s. 41(13)(b) as if he was entitled to full LOE benefits. The worker was sponsored in a four-week job search training program. On the evidence, the worker did not require additional LMR services.
The appeal was allowed in part.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 851 14
2014-08-20
S. Darvish - B. Davis - J. Crocker
  • Rengagement (non-respect) (paiements)
  • Rengagement (obligation de rengagement)

Le travailleur avait subi une lésion au cou et au dos en février 2009 et avait obtenu une indemnité pour PNF de 38 %. Il a interjeté appel de la décision dans laquelle le commissaire aux appels a conclu que l’employeur n’avait pas enfreint ses obligations de rengagement.

Le travailleur était inapte à s’acquitter de ses fonctions d’avant la lésion. Cependant, à partir de la mi février 2010, il était médicalement apte à effectuer du travail approprié. Aux termes du paragraphe 41 (5) de la Loi de 1997, l’employeur était donc tenu de lui offrir en priorité tout emploi approprié pouvant devenir disponible. L’employeur avait toutefois négligé de fournir des tâches modifiées appropriées, sans donner d’explication ni démontrer que cela lui aurait causé un préjudice injustifié. Le comité a conclu que l’employeur avait enfreint ses obligations de rengagement.
Le travailleur avait droit à des prestations pendant un an aux termes de l’alinéa 41 (13) b) comme s’il avait eu droit à des prestations pour PG. Il avait suivi un programme de recherche d’emploi de quatre semaines aux frais de la Commission et, au vu de la preuve, il n’avait pas besoin d’autres services de RMT.
L’appel a été accueilli en partie.