Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 375 15
12/03/2015
J. Smith
  • Re-employment (non-compliance) (payments) (duration)
  • Re-employment (termination)

The worker suffered a left ankle injury in November 2010. He returned to work after one week. The employer terminated his employment in December 2010. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer finding that the employer had not breached its re-employment obligations and that the worker was not entitled to payments under s. 41(13)(b) of the WSIA for one year.

A record of disciplinary proceedings leading up to the termination of the worker's employment resulted primarily from the employer's unwillingness to accommodate the worker and failure to assign to the worker duties that were within his medical restrictions. The Vice-Chair concluded that the termination was related to the work-related injury. Thus, the employer did breach its re-employment obligations to the worker.
Section 43(13)(b) allows for payments to the worker equivalent to LOE benefits for a maximum of one year. However, Board Operational Policy Manual, Document No. 19-02-02, on responsibilities of the workplace parties in work reintegration, provides that re-employment payments are issued for up to one year, if the worker has not returned to work with another employer. In this case, the worker returned to work with another employer in March 2011. Accordingly, the Vice-Chair found that the worker was entitled to payments under s. 41(13)(b) from December 2010 to March 2011.
The appeal was allowed in part.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 375 15
2015-03-12
J. Smith
  • Rengagement (non-respect) (paiements) (durée)
  • Rengagement (cessation d'emploi)

Le travailleur avait subi une lésion à la cheville gauche en novembre 2010. Il était retourné au travail après une semaine. L’employeur l’avait licencié en décembre 2010. Le travailleur a interjeté appel de la décision dans laquelle un commissaire aux appels concluait que l’employeur n’avait pas enfreint ses obligations de rengagement et que le travailleur n’avait pas droit à un an de versements aux termes de l’alinéa 41 (13) b) de la Loi de 1997.

Une procédure ayant donné lieu à l’examen du dossier disciplinaire avait mené à la conclusion que le licenciement résultait surtout du fait que l’employeur avait refusé d’adapter le travail et qu’il avait négligé de placer le travailleur à des tâches respectant les précautions médicales imposées. La vice-présidente a conclu que le licenciement était lié à la lésion professionnelle. L’employeur avait donc enfreint ses obligations de rengagement à l’égard du travailleur.
L’alinéa 43 (13) b) prévoit des versements équivalant aux prestations pour perte de gains pour une période maximale d’un an. Cependant, selon le document no 19-02-02 du Manuel des politiques opérationnelles, qui porte sur les responsabilités des parties du lieu du travail en matière de réintégration au travail, les paiements relatifs au rengagement sont faits jusqu’à un an si le travailleur n’a pas recommencé à travailler pour un autre employeur. En l’espèce, le travailleur avait recommencé à travailler pour un autre employeur en mars 2011. La vice-présidente a donc conclu que le travailleur avait droit à des versements aux termes de l’alinéa 41 (13) b) de décembre 2010 à mars 2011.
L'appel a été accueilli en partie.