Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 3088 17
18/10/2017
G. Dee
  • Legal precedent (consistency)
  • Permanent impairment {NEL} (degree of impairment) (shoulder)
  • Permanent impairment {NEL} (rating schedule) (AMA Guides)

The worker suffered bilateral shoulder injuries. The worker appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying ongoing entitlement for the left shoulder and denying an increase in the NEL award for the right shoulder.

On the evidence, the worker had ongoing entitlement for the left shoulder.
In rating the right shoulder, the Board used its adjudicative advice document on NEL ratings for acromioplasty. Based on that document, the Board assigned a 10% rating for the acromioplasty of the type the worker had on her right shoulder. That 10% rating was then combined with the rating for range of motion findings, resulting in a 14% NEL award.
The worker submitted that she should be entitled to a 24% rating for the acromioplasty in accordance with the AMA Guides.
There was a period of time in which there was uncertainty within Tribunal decisions. However, the matter now appears to be well settled that the 10% rating in the adjudicative advice document is the more appropriate rating than the rating in the AMA Guides. It is very important that Tribunal decisions reflect consistency of decision-making. Accordingly, the Vice-Chair accepted the use of the adjudicative advice document for rating surgery to the acromioclavicular joint. The worker was not entitled to an increase in the NEL award for her right shoulder impairment.
The appeal was allowed in part.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 3088 17
2017-10-18
G. Dee
  • Jurisprudence (cohérence)
  • Déficience permanente {PNF} (degré de déficience) (épaule)
  • Déficience permanente {PNF} (barème des taux) (guides de l’AMA)

La travailleuse avait subi des lésions aux épaules. Elle a interjeté appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de refuser de lui reconnaître le droit à une indemnité continue pour l’épaule gauche et à une augmentation de son indemnité pour perte non financière (PNF) pour l’épaule droite.

Au vu de la preuve, la travailleuse avait droit à une indemnité continue pour l’épaule gauche.
Pour fixer le taux pour l’épaule droite, la Commission avait utilisé son document de conseils décisionnels sur les taux pour acromioplastie. Elle avait utilisé le taux de 10 % prévu pour une acromioplastie du type de celle pratiquée à l’épaule droite de la travailleuse. Elle avait ensuite combiné ce taux de 10 % au taux correspondant aux constatations relatives à l’amplitude des mouvements, ce qui avait donné une indemnité pour PNF de 14 %.
La travailleuse soutenait que le taux aurait dû être 24 % pour l’acromioplastie conformément aux guides de l’AMA.
Pendant un certain temps, la jurisprudence du Tribunal dénotait de l’incertitude à ce sujet. Cependant, il semble maintenant bien établi que le taux de 10 % indiqué dans le document de conseils décisionnels est plus approprié que celui indiqué dans les guides de l’AMA. Il est très important que les décisions du Tribunal reflètent une cohérence décisionnelle. Le vice-président a donc accepté l’utilisation du document de conseils décisionnels pour fixer le taux pour l’acromioplastie. La travailleuse n’avait pas droit à une augmentation de son indemnité pour PNF pour la déficience à son épaule droite.
L’appel a été accueilli en partie.