Highlights of Noteworthy Decisions

Decision 498 18
19/06/2018
M. Crystal
  • Board Directives and Guidelines (cardiac conditions) (unusual physical exertion)
  • Heart attack
  • Presumptions (entitlement)

The worker's estate appealed a decision of the Appeals Resolution Officer denying entitlement for the worker's fatal cardiac arrhythmia.

The 57-year-old worker was a roads operator. He had been operating a snow plow on January 3, 2014. He was found in the employer's yard between the snow plow and the salt shed. It appeared that he had shovelled a few wheelbarrows of gravel.
Board policy allows entitlement for a heart condition in the case of unusual physical exertion for the individual with no significant delay in the onset of symptoms. The Vice-Chair found that shovelling a few wheelbarrows of gravel did not amount to unusual physical exertion. Evidence indicated that the worker had been performing routine roads work duties on the day in question. There was no suggestion that it was unusual for the worker to be performing this type of work. There was also evidence that the worker was a physically active person who bicycled and refereed hockey. The Vice-Chair concluded that the worker did not meet the requirements of Board policy.
The accident occurred in the course of employment. The presumption in s. 13(2) of the WSIA applied that the accident also arose out of employment unless the contrary is shown. It is settled law that there is only one standard of proof in civil law and that is the balance of probabilities. Thus, the same standard applies when rebutting the presumption as in other issues of entitlement.
The worker had a number of significant risk factors, specifically atherosclerotic heart disease combined with chronic bronchitis, age, family history of cardiac disease and a past smoking history. There was no evidence of excessive physical exertion at work. The Vice-Chair concluded that the presumption was rebutted.
The appeal was dismissed.

Points saillants des décisions dignes d'attention

Décision 498 18
2018-06-19
M. Crystal
  • Directives et lignes directrices de la Commission (troubles cardiaques) (effort physique inhabituel)
  • Crise cardiaque
  • Présomptions (admissibilité)

La succession du travailleur interjetait appel de la décision du commissaire aux appels de refuser de reconnaître le droit à une indemnité pour une arythmie cardiaque fatale.

Le travailleur âgé de 57 ans était conducteur de matériel d’entretien des routes. Il avait conduit un chasse-neige le 3 janvier 2014. Il avait été trouvé entre le chasse-neige et le hangar d’entreposage du sel dans la cour de l’employeur. Il semblait qu’il avait pelleté quelques brouettes de gravier.
La politique de la Commission prévoit une indemnité pour cardiopathie quand un effort physique inhabituel donne lieu à des symptômes peu de temps par la suite. Le vice-président a conclu que le pelletage de quelques brouettes de gravier ne constituait pas un effort physique inhabituel. La preuve indiquait que le travailleur avait effectué des travaux ordinaires d’entretien des routes le jour en question. Rien ne laissait entendre qu’il était inhabituel pour le travailleur d’effectuer un tel travail. La preuve indiquait aussi que le travailleur était une personne active qui faisait de la bicyclette et arbitrait au hockey. Le vice-président a conclu que les critères de la politique de la Commission n’étaient pas remplis.
L’accident était survenu au cours de l’emploi. Selon la présomption prévue au paragraphe 13 (2) de la Loi de 1997, il était survenu du fait de l’emploi sauf si le contraire est démontré. Il est établi en droit que la seule norme de preuve en droit civil est la prépondérance des probabilités. Cette norme de preuve s’applique donc autant pour réfuter la présomption que pour régler les autres questions relatives au droit à une indemnité.
Le travailleur présentait plusieurs facteurs de risque, nommément, une athérosclérose coronarienne combinée à une bronchite chronique, à l’âge, à des antécédents familiaux de troubles cardiaques et à d’anciens antécédents de tabagisme. Rien n’indiquait qu’il avait fait des efforts physiques excessifs au travail. Le vice-président a conclu que la présomption était réfutée.
L’appel a été rejeté.